Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

Our Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum


A new curriculum for the Early Years Foundation Stage was introduced in September 2012.


There are now three prime areas for learning and development:


  • Personal,Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


and four specific areas of learning and development:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Children's progress at Spinney Hill School is measured against a 'Child Tracker' in our Foundation 1 and 2 classes and in the final term of Foundation 2 against the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile as either 'emerging', 'expected' or 'exceeding' Early Learning Goals in each of the areas of learning and development.


Please view the EYFS curriculum and the Child Progress Tracker below.